See photos (5)

The women's convent

Historic site and monument, Historic patrimony, Religious heritage, Convent, Prison in Bourail
  • Built by the prison administration, the Louise Michel school once housed the Bourail women's convent, where French female prisoners were deported at the end of the 19th century.

  • Between 1870 and 1887, over 500 women were sent to New Caledonia from French prisons, with the aim of "providing" wives for men who had obtained land concessions after serving their sentences in the bagne. The women's penitentiary at Bourail, also known as "le couvent" because it was run by the sisters of Saint-Joseph-de-Cluny, provided accommodation for many of them. Concessionaires could go to the convent and ask to meet these women, then choose one to marry. The women's convent was built...
    Between 1870 and 1887, over 500 women were sent to New Caledonia from French prisons, with the aim of "providing" wives for men who had obtained land concessions after serving their sentences in the bagne. The women's penitentiary at Bourail, also known as "le couvent" because it was run by the sisters of Saint-Joseph-de-Cluny, provided accommodation for many of them. Concessionaires could go to the convent and ask to meet these women, then choose one to marry. The women's convent was built between 1871 and 1874 by the prison administration, before being sold at public auction in 1911. Today, the building houses the Louise Michel public elementary school.
  • Spoken languages
    • French
Services
  • Equipment
    • Car park
    • Free car park
Openings
Openings
  • All year 2024
    Open Everyday
Close