Chapelle de Notre Dame de Lourdes

Chapel of Our Lady of Lourdes

Historic site and monument, Religious heritage, Chapel, 19th C in Lifou
  • Perched on the hill overlooking the Bay of Santal (Sandalwood Bay), the Chapel of Our Lady of Lourdes provides a magnificent viewpoint from which to admire the bay.

  • The Catholic missionaries who came to evangelize the island of Lifou landed at Easo in April 1858. On the promontory overlooking the bays of Santal and Jinek, they built a small chapel in 1898. Our Lady of Lourdes is celebrated every year on December 8. The chapel is very easily reached by a small, landscaped pedestrian path. From the chapel of Easo, the panorama is unique and in the winter months remember to bring a pair of binoculars to watch the humpback whales come to breed just a few...
    The Catholic missionaries who came to evangelize the island of Lifou landed at Easo in April 1858. On the promontory overlooking the bays of Santal and Jinek, they built a small chapel in 1898. Our Lady of Lourdes is celebrated every year on December 8. The chapel is very easily reached by a small, landscaped pedestrian path. From the chapel of Easo, the panorama is unique and in the winter months remember to bring a pair of binoculars to watch the humpback whales come to breed just a few stone throws away.
  • Spoken languages
    • French
Services
  • Equipment
    • Parking
Openings
Openings
  • All year 2024
    Open Everyday
Useful address
Close