Eglise d'Ouara

Église d'Ouara

Historic site and monument, Religious heritage, Church, Classified in Yaté
  • Built in 1864, this church was the second in New Caledonia to be built permanently, after that of Vao,which is located on the Isle of Pines.

  • Father Chapuy of the Saint-Louis mission, during one of his trips to the Isle of Pines, was forced to take refuge on Ouen Isle to protect himself from a cyclone. This was his first contact with the local population. Two years later, two missionaries were sent there to build a mission.
    In 1882, during another cyclone, Father Chapuy, once again on the island, fell to his death while trying to secure the roof of the church. His grave is now visible in the small cemetery not far from there.
    Its...
    Father Chapuy of the Saint-Louis mission, during one of his trips to the Isle of Pines, was forced to take refuge on Ouen Isle to protect himself from a cyclone. This was his first contact with the local population. Two years later, two missionaries were sent there to build a mission.
    In 1882, during another cyclone, Father Chapuy, once again on the island, fell to his death while trying to secure the roof of the church. His grave is now visible in the small cemetery not far from there.
    Its architecture is very similar to that of the church of Vao, with a steeple wall and a single nave. The facade of the portal is decorated with pilasters and above the entrance door, a signature block bears the signature of the Marist Brothers. The church was built of limestone masonry coated with lime. The ground is tiled, the floor made of wood, and the roof tiled.
  • Spoken languages
    • French
Openings
Openings
  • All year 2024
    Open Everyday
Close